Duplicate system boot options after restore

Hey there,
I noticed some kind of weird behaviour after the 2nd reboot after restoring a btrfs snapshot:
(It detects the same drive as a different install apparently - I don't know if this is intentional)

Why is this?
Thanks!

Inxi -Fxxxza

Try running sudo update-grub. That will hopefully update and fix your grub menu.

Did you only reboot twice, or maybe performed an update after restoring and before first reboot?
I'm asking this only because I remember an identical case in that scenario.
But of course this can be due to something else.

Well yeah, I actually updated, trying to find the faulty package that broke .desktops (with --ignore though)

That didn't help, and it's not really that major, so nothing to worry about xD
Just a little confusing

You could also manually edit your grub config.

1 Like

Oh no, I don't think I will
Seriously; I don't know anything about the grub config

I'd try to manually delete them from boot/grub/grub.cfg.
That one is automatically generated at every grub update according to the config.
Maybe you can back it up first.
But probably it is the only way to go.

3 Likes

Well yeah, backing it up may be an option

2 Likes

Nothing can go wrong when you safely delete lines from the grub config.

:joy:

I mean it. Just backup. Deleting the correct entry shouldn't mess anything up.

2 Likes

@filo
Okay, that was easier than I thought - Luckily every grub section is surrounded with some kind of section comments.

2 Likes

Yeah. Linux is meant for this. There are many helpful comments, specially in grub configs.

2 Likes

If nothing help use

man efibootmgr
efibootmgr

Oh no, that is scary territory.
I just deleted the corresponding section from the grub.cfg

It's solved?
Mark it, please :slight_smile:

I don't want to consider it as solved; rather feels like a bug that I would be happy to get fixed

I don't think this is a bug.
My understanding is that this can happen if you update after a restare but before a reboot.
This is only something I read anyway, I haven't the skills to confirm it.

Edit: the timeshift readme says "Restoring backups from the running system requires a reboot to complete the restore process" (like our wiki of course), which is an indirect confirmation.

1 Like

I updated after the restore & reboot, I am 99% sure
Rather because I didn't expect anything to work, until the restore was actually applied

2 Likes

Ok no prob.
I misunderstood a part of the discussione above :blush:

I have the same problem. I boot Garuda by default and select Windows when needed.
The duplicates poke at my OCD but I can live with it.