Cant install "Add/Remove Software" from "Garuda Welcome" in Garuda Linux Barebones version

Hello.
i installed Garuda barebones in my pc, which was my first Linux OS. I installed kde daganoide in my VM before , but felt it was bloated so preferred barebones version.
After installing all the programs from "Garuda welcome" found only "Add/Remove Software " is not installing(terminal not even opened) when i click on it. I tried refreshing the database using sudo pacman -Syu and read all posts in the forum about this problem, but still found no solution.
I think link to transfer comment to the terminal is broken and can be fixed by downloading package directly from repository .

Can some one send me the commend in terminal to "Add/Remove Software" packages??

I am a newbie in Linux and don't know above way can solve the problem...If it doesn't work can some one find me a solution with this ????

regards,
Santosh .K. Sanapala.

1 Like

Be aware they don't give support for the barebones edition. That being said, Add/Remove Software is the Octopi program, all that does is install/start Octopi

2 Likes

If you are new to Linux and something isn't installing on a fresh install, you probably just did a system update and haven't restarted yet.

Also, if you are new to Linux, you probably shouldn't go barebones and not have support.

3 Likes

i found the solution :innocent: :grin: thanks to this video

1 Like

i already tried KDE Dr460nized ....but its not my likening....i loved KDE , so i stated with barebones to upgrade it to KDE ......i treid to remove all the bloatware in Dr460nized version, but still its not as optimized as i needed.

Either way, you picked the version meant for advanced users, there are other more lightweight versions of garuda linux you could have chosen but you jumped straight into the deep end, so sink or swim.
From the Download page: