Black screen after loading grub

Hello all,
Sorry if I am doing something dumb. I am new to Garuda. I installed the Gnome version this morning. After booting up after installing I gave it an update using pamac and after doing so I rebooted. Now after I select garuda from Grub, I get a black screen. I have tried ctrl+alt+F1/F2 to try to get into to tty but I cannot seem to do that either. I reinstalled garuda again to see if it was something with the installation but after updating and rebooting again, it still seems to not work.

What have I done wrong?

Thank you in advance for your help

1 Like

Which packages did you update? What hardware do you have?

Old Garuda GNOME ISO?
Changing display manager help, IIRC.

and
:slight_smile:

1 Like

Oh! That restoring feature is super helpful.

I have restored the session back to working and as for the question of which packages I updated. There were around 161 packages I upgraded . This time I am trying to update and leaving out gdm and seeing if that is what may be causing the problem.

As for hardware, I am running this on an HP Pavillion Laptop 15 with an AMD A12-9720P cpu with Radeon R7 graphics

I tried checking to see if I had an outdated ISO and it seems like I have the latest (from sourceforge).

How would I go about changing my display manager?

You should still be able to see journal logs from your failed boot.
The auto-snapshots does not lose previous journal logs AFAIK.
Check

journalctl -p3

and check the timestamps.

2 Likes

Before you do that, include some information about your system and the packages you updated which caused the issue.

Try to do this systematically rather than jumping ahead.

2 Likes

Sorry about that. I do tend to jump ahead…

My system is an HP Pavilion Laptop 15-cd0xx
It has an AMD A12-9720P with Radeon R7 (embedded in the processor).

I have a list of the packages I updated in the following pastebin: Garuda's PrivateBin