5.15.6-zen2-1-zen Virtualbox no longer working

Hello

I'm relatively new to both Linux itself and Arch Linux and ran a full update of my Garuda system as it was prompting that several packages needed updating. It also appears to have updated the kernel as well as it is now running on "Kernel: 5.15.6-zen2-1-zen"

This update appears to have done something to the drivers used by virtualbox. This was working without issue prior to this update but is now throwing the update
"kernel driver not installed (rc=1908)"

There are lots of articles about this and all advise to either just reboot, which doesn't solve this for me or purge and reinstall virtualbox. To do this I ran this:
Attempted to Purge virtualbox using Sudo pacman -Rn virtualbox
ran pacman -Qdt to find unlinked dependencies
Found virtualbox-host-modules-arch
Removed using sudo pacman -RN virtualbox-host-modules-arch
Ensured system sync by rnning sudo pacman -Syu nothing be done
ran sudo pacman -S virtualbox

once this was reinstalled I found an instruction for me to run the following command to get the kernel driver to install
sudo modprobe vboxdvr

but this throws this error
modprobe: FATAL: Module vboxdrv not found in directory /lib/modules/5.15.6-zen2-1-zen

I've seen a very old article suggest that installing virtualbox-host-dkms will resolve this, but this in conflict with the the virtualbox-host-arch that I have installed

Other than this I have seen a suggestion to install the linux-headers package which I have also tried and there is still no driver to install from modprobe.

I've exhausted everything i can find through Google and don't know what else to try. Any suggestions?

Hi there, welcome.
Is virtualbox-meta installed?

3 Likes

Have you rebooted since updating? It is possible your installed kernel and running kernel no longer match so it can't use the modules.

2 Likes